ancient-wisdom.co.uk
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The purpose of the stones

Go down

The purpose of the stones Empty The purpose of the stones

Post  cjackson Tue Mar 09, 2010 11:21 pm

I am a long time student of the stones, mythology, and ancient peoples. My heritage is a mixture of Scotland, Ireland, Germany, and Sweden and perhaps that may explain the great interest I have in the stones. My theory is based on much thought and personal research. The stone circles were not just temples, but a gathering place to retell oral history and to observe the heavens to predict future events such as the best time to plant, the most profile time to fish and when to gather food reserves for long winters or an upcoming draught. Even more than this, they were used for both delivering and blessing births and sending the departed onto the next life. The circles were a manmade nexus of portals to other planes such as the plane of birth and renewal, the plane of afterlife, the planes of light and darkness and the elemental planes.

In modern day we have separated the purpose of the circle into many different "buildings", a library, a school, a church or temple, and a hospital. These institutions are the mainstays and backbones of any organized group of people. Throughout history, towns were organized by first a church or temple close-by and then grew by building first a school, then a hospital, and finally a college or university. In ancient times, all of these were combined into once place, a specially built area unlike the surrounding huts or cabins or houses. Here too came trade and skills to fill the needs of the surrounding inhabitants.